“78 Tough Questions for Christians”, part 2

I am continuing on with answering these questions. See my previous post for more details.  Here it goes:


If you have cancer, what would help you more: Certain drugs, or prayer? 

I’m not sure because I do not know counterfactuals.  🙂  However, I will play along.  I, again, don’t see this as an either/or option and so it’s a false dichotomy. So what question could this be asking that could possibly be “tough”? I’m not sure.


If you had an amputated limb, would prayer ever bring it back? 

Again, I don’t know counterfactuals. Nonetheless, I think it’s certainly possible that prayer would do so, but that doesn’t imply that it would work that way.


If you have an exam coming up, what would contribute more to a higher score: Prayer or more studying? 

This is another counterfactual and it’s weird asking these sorts of questions (although it does prove Plantinga’s point about how we think there actually are answers to such questions). Again, it isn’t an either/or. I mean, I doubt God would simply answer a prayer because we are lazy and don’t want to study simply because God gave us brains for a reason; however, I also don’t see why the two can’t work in concert with one another.


If you prayed for me over YouTube right now, do you think I would know it?

I doubt it. Why would you?


What matters to God more: The quantity of people praying or the quality of their prayers?

It’s a combination I would guess. The same tends to be true in our life so that’s the only sort of hypothesis I have.


If quantity matters, shouldn’t the most popular team always win the Super Bowl?

Nope. First, quantity isn’t the only thing that matters. Second, God doesn’t simply answer prayers just because.


If quality matters, why do people you love sometimes die no matter what you do? 

Ultimately the answer is because there is some greater good of sorts. What this is, I’m not sure.


Is it possible that your prayers have no supernatural effect and only serve to make you feel better?

How is this “possible” functioning here?  If metaphysical possibility, sure, but that’s of no consequence.  If epistemic possibility, sure, but, again, that’s of no consequence. In fact, I would say many prayers do not have a supernatural effect by the very fact that there are things called unanswered prayers! (Incidentally, Garth Brook said some of God’s greatest gifts are unanswered prayers.) So how is this a tough question exactly?


Would you ever admit it if that were true?

I think this is answered by my above response.


Is there anything in your life that makes you doubt God’s existence?

I’ll take both sides on this one just to analyze the options. Suppose the answer is yes, so what? Suppose the answer is no, so what? I don’t see how this is a tough question. In fact, I would say all Christians have doubts about God’s existence because sinning is an act of unbelief (maybe that isn’t a doubt per se, but the point is still made). But what is supposed to follow from this that makes the question so tough?


How would your life change if you had serious doubts about God’s existence?

For one thing, any action I take that is predicated upon not having serious doubts about God’s existence wouldn’t be taken. Again, this seems like an easy enough question.


Was Jesus white?

I’ll go with “no” on this one.  And how is this a tough question exactly?


Why does God seem more likely to answer the prayers of a talented athlete than a starving child overseas?

Well “seem” is inherently perspective based so are you asking me why it seems like that to you? If so, that might be a tough question and all, but that’s only because I don’t know you at all.


Why does God Seem [sic] to hate Africa?

See my above response.


If a group of Africans swooped in to your community with the intention of converting you and your neighbors to their tribal faith, what would your reaction be?

First, I would wonder what all this swooping is about. If they are using military tactics, I might call the police. Other sorts of swooping are okay, but somewhat odd. Second, it would be dependent upon my mood at the time, but I would hope that I would be cordial to them and give them a fair hearing.


Does God speak to you? 

I’m not sure what you mean by this question. I haven’t heard God audibly say something to me, but I’ve felt God’s presence. No matter how a person answers this, how is this a tough question exactly?


If God spoke to you and told you to kill someone, would you do it?

Whether I would do it or not, I’m not sure since I’ve never been placed in any analogous situation that would give me any grounds on which to guess. The more interesting question is should I do it. Now, if a morally perfect and omniscient being told me to take some action, I think it would pretty obvious that if I wanted to be rational and/or moral, then I should follow the action proscribed. If you don’t, then you are being irrational and immoral. So why “shouldn’t” you do it then from simply a rational or moral standpoint (here I am bracketing pragmatics about how it would make one feel, etc.)? This simply seems to be a question that didn’t have much thought put into it.


Is God always watching you?

Not with eyes, but God knows all things.


How about when you’re on the toilet?

Yes, God knows when I am using the restroom. Again, is this supposed to be a tough question…?

 

Another 19 questions down which makes for a grand total of 30 “tough” questions answered. At this point, I have considered being snarky (and this might be evident in my post) simply due to the fact that these aren’t tough questions and they aren’t well thought out at all. Nonetheless, this video somehow has 25,000 views and the person starring in it seems to really believe that these are really tough questions! A more interesting thing to ponder is this: why do these questions seems so tough to some people when they aren’t tough at all?

4 thoughts on ““78 Tough Questions for Christians”, part 2

  1. I tend to agree that these questions are not at all tough. I’ve certainly had tougher ones posed to me, at least.

    They seem to all rely on trying to force the Christian to respond in a way that invokes mild discomfort. “God watches me poop? Well that’s a little odd…”

    1. Yeah, I really just don’t get it. And the thing that is more puzzling to me is that this person (and tons of others) seem to actually think these are really tough questions for Christians and shows Christianity is false. It makes me rather pessimistic to be honest.

Leave a Reply

