“78 Tough Questions for Christians”, part 4

Part 1. Part 2. Part 3.

Continuing on with the series, let’s see how many questions I can get through today without becoming totally pessimistic.


If someone came up to you and said she was pregnant but she was totally a virgin, would you believe her?

Probably not, but that is simply a question about what my psychological state would be. So what?


Why did God have to rape a teenage girl in order to become human?

This is just really sad. Seriously? Nonetheless, it goes without saying that God didn’t rape Mary nor does the Bible portray that. In fact, I believe it was Joseph Fitzmyer who said that Luke went to great lengths in order to be clear that God and Mary didn’t have intercourse. On to the next point, I don’t believe the virgin birth was necessary for the incarnation, but I think it makes a great deal of sense to do it that way.


If you could go back in time when Jesus was being crucified, would you try to save Him or would you stand back and do nothing because your entire faith depends on Him being crucified?

First, I want to say that I have no idea what I would do if I saw someone being crucified in front of me and Roman soldiers around. That would be the scariest thing I would ever experience so all bets are off. Nonetheless, hopefully I would try to save Him. How is this a tough question exactly?


What would it take to change your mind in God’s existence?

A sound argument against God’s existence. But let’s suppose the answer is nothing, so what? That’s a perfectly valid and defensible position to take.


Do you think it is a little strange when someone says they’re gonna believe in something no matter what, even when all the evidence seems to point in the other direction?

It really depends on the situation. However, I don’t see how asking about my psychological state in a situation is supposed to be a tough question.


What is something your pastor has said in church that you totally disagree with?

There’s lots of things, but I think Calvinism would be one.


And when that happened, did you confront your pastor about it or did you just let it slide?

I think the final option is supposed to be condescending or bad or something of the sort, but I’m not sure why not confronting a person when you disagree with them is a bad thing. So, I didn’t confront him, but I fail to see how this is a bad thing and I suspect the person in the video has ever let things like that happen.


Why are there so many different Christian denominations?

Because people decided to make different denominations. That seems pretty obvious.


And are the people who are in those different denominations bad Christians, are they wrong?

It seems like he takes the last clause as an explanation of being a “bad Christian”, but I don’t think those are so intricately tied. Of course I think those who disagree with me are wrong (or else I wouldn’t believe what I do!), but that doesn’t mean they are bad Christians in any sense of the word. I am willing to guess that some are and some aren’t (assuming, of course, that there are good and bad Christians, a question in itself that can only be answered based on strict definitions).


Which denomination is right?

Well there is nothing I disagree with in the Southern Baptist convention, but that’s a large part because the Baptist Faith and Message doesn’t discuss a lot of the more controversial positions. So, I’m Southern Baptist, and I think they are right.


Or, which group of denominations is right?

I’m not aware of a different denomination where I wouldn’t disagree with something that is part of that denomination, so I would say none that I am aware of.


Who or what do you think is responsible for natural disasters, like earthquakes and tsunamis?

I’m not sure what he means by “responsible”. However, let’s take what I assume he thinks is the most ridiculous position: natural disasters are the work of demons. As Alvin Plantinga says in The Nature of Necessity, “many people find it preposterous; but that is scarcely evidence against it.” (p. 195) So how is this a tough question either way?


Can you pause the video right now and tell me what the Ten Commandments are?

How is this a tough question? But, yes.


And if you know them (and good for you if you do), why do so many Christians believe the first four of them belong on government property and in classes?

“…and good for you if you do…” came off as rather condescending so I hope he didn’t mean it that way. However, with regards to the question at hand, I would suggest asking those people. I have some hunches, but this is nonetheless not a tough question.


Would you feel comfortable saying the pledge of allegiance in class everyday if the words were “one nation under no God, with liberty and justice for all”?

Probably not. However, in all honesty, I really don’t like saying the pledge of allegiance, period. So what?


Do you think it’s just a coincidence that different religions are popular in different parts of the world?

Nope. I think God know who would and would not freely choose Him given the opportunity and He so created the world with that in mind. 🙂


Do you believe that if you were born in Saudi Arabia, you would be a Muslim rather than a Christian?

I have no idea. Maybe; maybe not. So what?


Is it possible that religion has less to do with what’s true and more to do with the circumstances of where and when you were born?

I’m not sure how “possible” is being used here, but it doesn’t really matter either way as nothing of consequence follows. So I will say “sure, anything’s possible.”


Do you believe childbirth is an example of a miracle?

Nope.


Does that mean Hitler was once a “miracle baby”?

No.


And if childbirth is a miracle, how come that miracle happens thousands and thousands of times every week?

Just because something happens often does not mean it isn’t a miracle. This question assumes a defunct definition of miracles and shows the person hasn’t thought deeply about the topic.

 

I don’t think I am going to go back through and see if I missed any simply because these weren’t tough questions. My next post in the series will be some concluding thoughts.

Leave a Reply

