Remembering and Truth

I really had never thought about this until I saw a brief post by Andrew Moon linking to some of his papers about the connection between the two. So a tip of my hat to him for raising the issue.

Consider the following. I am talking to my brother and we are discussing what we did yesterday. I remark, “well I remember doing some skeet shooting and that was really fun!” My brother retorts, “you don’t remember that because it didn’t happen! You only think you remember that.”

This conversation seems natural enough and it happens in a similar fashion quite often. The offshoot of all of this is that a necessary condition of remembering something is the truth of that thing. That has some interesting offshoots in itself. Feel free to post some of them if you think of any.

One thought on “Remembering and Truth

Leave a Reply

